Theft crimes in North Carolina

Griffin Law, PLLC
Oct 14, 2019

Every state has its own definitions and penalties for theft offenses, and in North Carolina, the charges depend on a variety of circumstances, such as how much and what type of property is taken and whether a weapon is involved.

FindLaw notes that before a person faces a court date for a theft charge in North Carolina, it is important to understand the details about the state’s laws.


Taking property or cash valued at less than $1,000 can result in a Class 1 misdemeanor conviction, 120 days in jail and a possible fine. Taking property or cash valued over $1,000 could result in a Class H felony. The charge could also be a felony if someone takes property directly from another person, the property stolen is a deadly weapon or an explosive device, or the person entered a home to commit the theft (burglary).

Receiving stolen property

Someone who comes into possession of stolen goods valued over $1,000 may receive a Class H felony conviction if the court rules that a reasonable person could have known the goods’ status.


When an employee steals property valued at up to $100 from an employer, the charge could be a Class H felony, resulting in a possible four-month to 25-month prison sentence. If the amount taken exceeds $100, the felony is Class C charge that could result in a 44- to 182-month prison sentence.

Larceny of fuel

Stealing motor fuel such as gasoline is a Class F felony offense, which carries a prison sentence of between 10 and 41 months.

Point system

The North Carolina Judicial System explains that in North Carolina, previous offenses are assigned points, and a new theft conviction may result in an increased sentence if the person already has a number of points on his or her record. Individuals without prior convictions may receive reduced sentences, depending on the circumstances of the case.

Recent Posts